Caille silent sphinx help needed

This is the area to talk about everything regarding repairing and restoring machines.

Caille silent sphinx help needed

Postby briank » Sun Jul 31, 2016 7:02 pm

I just picked up a nice original Caille silent sphinx that has been in the previous owners family for 60 years. They did not know anything about the machine and I'm just learning as well...my other slots have been Jennings goosenecks. When I called about it they said it jams and they didn't know if it was a penny or dime machine as they have used both!! The payout card didn't say on it either as I thought on these they usually said up there. Anyways I bought it (pics later) ,I pulled the mech and its a dime machine. I put a dime in,pull the handle and the dime goes directly into the jackpot, a couple pennies fall out but the wheels do not spin. This old girl definitely needs a good mech cleaning but any idea why the wheels wont spin?
briank

Re: Caille silent sphinx help needed

Postby Richard13 » Sun Jul 31, 2016 7:30 pm

Will be interesting to hear what's in the coin tube after 60 years! Maybe some $1.29 silver dimes whoo hoo!
Looking for survivor machines especially vendor fronts or original side vendors with or without
a machine. 1920's-30's goosenecks, round escalators. I enjoy hand painting the castings.
Richard13

Postby marsonion » Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:37 pm