Genuine Mills 5c Poinsettia?

See a listing on E-Bay and want to discuss it? Want to rant about Ebay? All E-Bay related discussion should go here.

Genuine Mills 5c Poinsettia?

Postby WikiSlots » Sun Aug 24, 2014 5:57 am

Hello,

I guess I'm a typical amateur. I bought a machine on Ebay before I came here to ask if it's real. Would you mind letting me know if it's authentic?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/171431016882

The serial number is 147213, which I registered. From what I read, the serial number of a Poinsettia is too low, ca. 1926, because they weren't manufactured until 1928 or 1929. Is that true? Could it be a a different model converted to Poinsettia? Or a repo altogether?

Okay, I'll stop asking questions and let the experts chime in. I'm not even going to ask if I paid too much ... it's too late anyway.

Thank you for your help.

:Dave
WikiSlots

Re: Genuine Mills 5c Poinsettia?

Postby oldslotman » Sun Aug 24, 2014 10:01 am

WikiSlots wrote:Hello,

I guess I'm a typical amateur. I bought a machine on Ebay before I came here to ask if it's real. Would you mind letting me know if it's authentic?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/171431016882

The serial number is 147213, which I registered. From what I read, the serial number of a Poinsettia is too low, ca. 1926, because they weren't manufactured until 1928 or 1929. Is that true? Could it be a a different model converted to Poinsettia? Or a repo altogether?

Okay, I'll stop asking questions and let the experts chime in. I'm not even going to ask if I paid too much ... it's too late anyway.

Thank you for your help.

:Dave

You most likely have an earlier model Liberty Bell that someone changed out the lower casting to make it a Poinsettia that has a jackpot. Earlier model liberty bells had no jackpots. Not a repo, just a machine that was updated to add a jackpot.
oldslotman

Postby WikiSlots » Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:50 pm

Thank you for the info.
WikiSlots

Postby mechanic » Sun Aug 24, 2014 7:09 pm