Exciting new acquisition: Caille Commander

This area is to discuss slot machines. A slot machine is defined as a machine that pays the customer something of value (coin, token, etc.) when a winning combination is hit.

This area created on 2/7/17

Exciting new acquisition: Caille Commander

Postby johnleblanc » Mon Nov 09, 2020 10:55 pm

We acquired our first nickel slot machine yesterday and I'm already OBSESSED. Huge thanks to contributors to this forum from whom I've picked up a TON of history, HOWTOs and insight already. I already broke and successfully repaired the escalator. It was only a dislodged spring, but please just let me feel cool about it for now, okay?

As a total newbie it's been super interesting learning about the history of Caille Brothers, all the various models and discovering prolific historians like Mr Bueschel.

I have SO MANY questions, but first, here's what I picked up:
front view.jpg
Caille Commander Front View

mech front.jpg
Mech Front

jackpot view 41265.jpg
Jackpot Inside View and Serial 41265

mech serial 40709.jpg
Mech Serial 40709

It was advertised as a "1936 Cadet," but I'm confident it's really a Commander from what I've learned here.

It's VERY clean looking and it's in pretty good working order. Someone did a really nice restoration it seems, and wouldn't it be SO COOL if someone on this forum recognizes it and takes credit!?

The teeth marks on the clock seems like an obvious indication that the clock has been tuned up. I see some fluid seeping up through the top, which tempts me to attempt a replacement of the top internal rubber O-ring and top off the fluid. It was barely moist when we got it, but the pooling slightly increased in volume after a few hundred pulls over the last 24 hours.
seeping clock.jpg
Seeping Clock